SUCCESS IN THE CITY – By Bridget Blevins


The dictionary defines success as the achievement of one’s goals and the attainment of wealth, position, honor, and the like. Each journey is a private and personal quest. Everyone takes a different road to reach their destination.

I would like to introduce Mr. Mohammed F. Qubouri.  Born and raised in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, Mohammed comes from a family of eight: four sisters and one brother. His father is a retired General of the Royal Air Force of Saudi Arabia and his mother manages the home.

Mohammed graduated high school and completed one year in New Market ,Canada. He moved to the U.S. to W.D.C and attended the American University where he received his bachelor’s degree. His post-graduate studies were at George Washington University where he earned his Master’s degree.

Mohammed is the Vice President of Business Development at Intimaa Real Estate Service Company. He is married and he and his lovely wife have a beautiful baby girl.

I had the opportunity to talk with Mohammed about his success and this is what he had to say …

Q: When you are searching for a career path , many things influence your decision. It could be a strong passion for something you love or a person that encourages you to be your best. Who or what had a tremendous impact on your career choice?

A: The Saudi Real Estate Market had the most impact on my direction. I studied Information Technology in college, but I came back to a country where IT was considered a “back office job”. I had always envisioned myself leading and interacting with people on a daily basis, thus I decided to pursue a career in real estate.

 

Q: Once you step in the right direction toward your goals, you must establish a mindset that will help you to succeed. What did you do to set the stage to reach your goals?

A: I transformed my brain into a sponge. I tried hard to absorb as much knowledge as I could in a short period of time. I was always content with where I was yet hungry for more opportunities. I never said “NO” to work. I had always bet on myself . I taught myself office politics, and I surrounded myself with accomplished and dedicated people.

 

Q: Everyone interprets the meaning of words differently. How do you define success, and do you see yourself as successful? Are there more goals you wish to achieve?

A: To me success means how I want to be remembered as an excellent husband, a loving father, a respectful son, a kind brother, a considerate boss, and a great leader. I thank Allah for where I am today. I aspire to become a Senior Vice President then a CEO within the next four to five years. I hope to retire early and have my money work for me.

 

Q: Many Jobs can be hectic and challenging. Describe a typical day in your work life.

A: My day begins early in the morning. Once I arrive at the office, I meet with my assistant to go over my agenda for the day. I meet with my boss for the daily briefing and then it’s business, as usual. I oversee projects from the beginning to the closing. It is important that every aspect of the project is completed successfully and professionally.

In the evenings, I spend time with my family. And then I head out to see my father at his office and conduct some business with his staff. Afterwards, I go to the gym and workout.

 

Q: As you acquire work experience, many lessons are learned over the years. If you knew then what you know now, would you do anything differently? If you had the chance to do it all over, would you choose the same direction?

A: I would have majored in finance in college and minored in IT. I would have worked in the U.S. for a minimum of one year before coming back to Saudi Arabia. I would have joined Intimaa right away. They offer an excellent fresh grad program.

 

Q: Successful people have special personality traits or characteristics that enable them to achieve. What traits or characteristics do you believe are important, and which traits of your own personality helped you become successful?

A: Patience and honesty. Decision making can be time-consuming. Having patience can make a difference on the outcome of projects. You can never go wrong with honesty. I have always made sure my voice is heard.

 

Q: There are so many young people beginning their journey and working diligently to be successful. What advice can you give to help them along the path of success?

A: Nowadays, the competition in the job market is fierce. One must equip himself/herself with skills and knowledge that would make them stand out in the crowd. I recommend to learn new business skills, earn a higher degree, speak perfect English, earn specialized certifications in computer or accounting, and to network with people.

 

Thank you Mr. Mohammed Qubouri . I wish you the best .

Leave a Reply

