The Heat of Hot 105 – By Zatasha Kiran


Marc Young is the director of imaging and production for Cox Media Group in Miami, Florida and an overnight host for the radio station HOT105. Having been in the radio industry for 24 years and at Cox Media Group for about 15 of those years, Marc talks to us about his interests and how he got started.

Marc Young with Ice Cube

Q: How and when did you become interested in presenting?
A: I would say that I developed a love for radio when I was in grade school. My mom would have the radio on every morning. The local radio morning shows were so entertaining that I gained a high interest in getting into radio myself. I loved it and wanted to follow that path. While I was in high school I luckily got that opportunity to do so.

Q: Tell us about a typical day in the life of a presenter.
A: I get to work at about 9:30am then I start on any immediate pending production orders. I would “voice track” or pre-record voice breaks to run on my overnight show. I’m on from 12 am to 5 am EST on HOT105. During the day I meet with sales people discussing their client’s needs and then I work on station imaging. Those are the station adverts that play between the songs.

Q: What type of music do you play on your show and what do you usually listen to?
A: I play mostly R&B and old school on the overnight show, but there’s a wide range of music that I like to listen to. Some of my favourite artists are Mint Condition, Coldplay, John Legend, Meek Mill, and Bobby Shmurda.

Q: We all need something to keep us going, what drives and motivates you?
A: I have a lot of passion and love for what I do. I just want to be the best that I can be and hopefully be a help or an inspiration to others so those are the things that keep me on track.

Q: You’ve worked with many famous celebrities; do you ever get star struck?
A: LOL, no not really. Most celebrities are very nice. They are people too just like you and me. I’ve met people like Mary J Blige, Trey Songz and Ice Cube and they’re all down to earth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Q: If you could spend the spend the day with someone famous who would it be and why?
A: Probably Bill Clinton. I like what he is doing with his global initiative and I admire his work.

Q: What are the most important qualities to have when working in media?
A:  I would say adaptability. All forms of media changes constantly and you have to stay ahead of the curve if you want to remain relevant. The way in which people gather information changes all the time. It used to be that people would wake up in the morning and turn on the TV and watch the news to get information on what’s going on in the world. That still happens, but most young people get their information through social media, on their phone, or some type of smart device. TV stations and radio have developed apps to reclaim that segment of their audience that is inevitably going in that direction.

Q: What advice would you give to someone aspiring to be a presenter?
A:  GO AFTER IT! Working in the broadcast industry is very fun and rewarding. I love what I do, and it feels very good to know that you have positively affected that lives of your listeners.

Leave a Reply

