Model Material – Interviewed by Zatasha Kiran


23-year-old Faeza Khan from Manchester, England, studied nutrition and public health at university before going on to fulfil a dream in modelling. Having worked her way up and managing to secure a contract with well-known London agency,The Model Portal (TMP) over a year ago, she now models for fashion and beauty shots all over the UK. Faeza speaks to Uvadahlia about her thoughts on beauty and what it is to her.

Q: How and when did you get into modelling?
A: I have always wanted to model from a young age, but I decided to devote my attention to my education. In my spare time I did a few photo shoots to help friends. It was from there where a makeup artist scouted me to model at her studio. A year later I joined The Model Portal agency in London and my modelling career took off. It was the best decision that I have ever made. I love how I get the chance to portray different characters though all my shoots and most of all it is one of the most enjoyable jobs I have had to date.


Q: You’ve been with The Models Portal for over a year now, how do you find it?
A: Brilliant. They’re very supportive and I have been with my agency for over a year and they are brilliant, very supportive and on shoots you are most likely to meet models from the same agency which is great.

Q: What would you say is your signature look?
A: It would be the simple sun-kissed look which consists of tinted moisturiser, my eyebrows coloured so they are more defined, bronzer to give me that glow and shimmer, and to finish my look I use a nude and pink lipstick. My hair I just wash and leave it as it is naturally wavy/curly, I mainly let it air dry as I try to use less heat products.

Q: Beauty experts always say it’s important to keep a routine, do you have a specific beauty regime?
A: I use ‘SIMPLE’ products as I find it suits my skin type (combination skin). My routine starts with ‘kind to skin purifying cleansing lotion’, followed by ‘kind to skin soothing facial toner which helps to tighten my skin’ followed by their daily moisturiser. I find that these products make my skin feel refreshed and tighter. This is done day and night. When removing any makeup I like to use baby oil or Garnier soothing 2 in 1 makeup remover as the makeup comes off easily and it doesn’t irritate my skin. I use a face scrub twice a week, I like the St Ives one which has little microbeads that help to exfoliate my skin.

Q: So, as your a fan of beauty products what three beauty items could you not live without?
A: I would say Estee Lauder day wear which has SPF 15 that helps protect me from sun damage, it’s a moisturiser and has a sheer tint which gives me a glow. My second item would be a lipstick, MAC do a great one that from their ‘Mineralize rich lipstick’ range, it keeps my lips moist and nourished, the colour would be ‘MAC- style approved’ which is a bright orange coral that will just brighten up any look. Finally my last item is a black eye pencil as there are many looks I can create with it such as a simple top liner, a cat eye, or even a smokey eye for the evening.

Q: Some say a girl’s best feature is her hair, what’s the best hair care advice you have been given?
A: Since I’ve been young, remedies for hair care have been passed down from generation to generation. Every fortnight my mother would make a yogurt cocktail, the ingredients for that is 1 raw egg, 5 tbsp. yogurt, 1 tbsp. of olive oil and squeeze of lime mixed together which is then applied to the hair and left in for 30- 45 minutes before being washed out with lukewarm water, followed by shampoo and conditioner. This helped to nourish my hair, it also provided protein and kept it looking healthy and shiny. I would definitely recommend it.
model pakistani

Q: You have managed to perfect a flawless look but have you ever had any beauty disasters?
A: One that I will never forget was ‘a bad hair day or I should say ‘bad hair few weeks’! I was 9 years old, I cut my own fringe but ended up cutting it very short and I wasn’t able to do anything with it, so I had to go to school as it was. Everyone asked me questions about it, from that I have now learnt my lesson to leave it to the professionals.

Q: What does beauty mean to you?
A: Beauty to me is all about the person themselves rather than what people see on the outside. It’s about their personality, being humble and down to earth.

Q: We all have those days where we don’t feel great, what makes you feel beautiful?
A: The little things really count for me, going to the gym and putting my entire effort in. It makes me feel great and I can feel and see the improvement. I also believe praying plays a big part in my life as I have noticed that it feeds my soul which is reflected on my complexion as well as inner beauty, I feel after my early morning prayer it gives me a natural glow.

Q: We believe beauty on the inside is just as important as on the outside, what do you do to maintain them both?
A: To maintain beauty on the inside I always remain humble and grounded. For me the saying ‘you are what you eat’ does mean a lot. As a nutritionist I believe to maintain beauty on the inside and out is all about my diet, it is all about the food that you consume which will reflect on your body and skin. The best way for my body to be healthy and my skin to glow is by having a ‘super diet’ which basically is following the eat well plate which focuses on getting the nutrients you need from your food. My morning routine consists of a bowl of granola or oats with a sprinkle of chia seeds or flaxseed and some fresh fruit such as blueberries or goji berries topped with milk or Greek yogurt. Antioxidant foods are the way to go. I find that making a juice or a smoothie is easier and quicker and I can add whatever I like from spinach to avocado, Brazil nuts, strawberries and banana. I find that these are the best foods to help me maintain my clear skin and give me that glow and as well as helping my body on the inside, these foods also help to release energy throughout the day especially when I have a busy schedule. I always have water and green tea throughout my day which helps to cleanse and increase metabolism. I avoid fried and processed foods and for lunch or dinner I always opt for grilled chicken or fish and veg.

Q: What beauty icons do you look to for fashion and style inspiration?
A: My style would sway towards ‘Cara Delevingne’  and ‘Jessica Alba’ as both of them have the relaxed day to day look and when they have places to go they do make the extra effort in the evenings. I love their glamorous red carpet looks.

Q: Are there any insider secrets that you have you picked up from the makeup artists who work on you for shoots?
A: All makeup artists have their own way of applying makeup, there are so many different things that I have actually learnt/picked up along the way from how to apply eye shadow to how to make your lips fuller. But I think the best thing would be applying tape from just under the eye to the outer corner, the tape helps to create a neater finish with both eye shadow and eyeliner.

Well you’ve given us a great insight into your beauty world and shared some promising tips. Uvadahlia wishes you all the best on your future endeavours and stay beautiful!

Leave a Reply

