Behind the Lens – By Zatasha Kiran


20 year old Sarah Brown from Newcastle upon Thyme is studying photography at Salford University, Manchester and has already produced images for ASOS, London Fashion Week, Miss Foxy, Sunday Sun Newspaper, Chronicle Online and Pakistan in Vogue, amongst others. Currently interning for fashion label Missguided which is described as a fresh, vibrant, trendy online clothes experience with launches in America, Australia, France and Europe, Sarah excels at her role as a fashion photographer.

Sarah Brown

 

Q: When and how did you become interested in photography?
A: I used to paint quite a lot for my A level art course, then realised I always took photographs to work from. This was when I realised I loved photography, as I enjoyed the photography more than the actual painting!

Q: Creativity can stem from people you are around a lot, does anyone else in your family have artist talent?
A: It’s funny you say that, because my grandad was an arial photographer in World War 2 and my great grandad was Harry Mortimer, who was a famous conductor. Maybe that’s where my artistic flare has come from. Hopefully, I can follow in their footsteps.

Q: What do you think makes you stand out from other artists in your niche?
A: When setting my own brief, I always ask myself “Has it been done before? How can I do it differently?” I think this is a good way to stand out from the sea of photographers in this industry. I think my ideas take a slight twist on what’s expected.

Q: What do you plan to achieve with your work?
A: I would LOVE my work to be featured on a cover, hopefully I’m not too far off.

Q: Most people have one or more long term goals and aims, where do you see yourself in five years?
A: Well next year is one of the most important years of my life. It’s the year I leave university, and I have to choose from a number of pathways to take. Whether I go down the e-commerce road or the freelance road will take its toll! I never feel as if I am good enough to become freelance as I feel everyone is better than me, but there’s always hope.

Q: Tell us about your work with fashion label Missguided.
A: I’ve been there for a year, however I’m not there so much at the moment due to my university work. It’s great meeting all the models from around the world that shoot with Missguided. I’ve learnt so much from the photographers there. I even helped the creative director (Sara) with the styling for the Nicole Scherzinger collection, which was so cool! She’s amazing, definitely worth checking out at www.saraluxe.com

Q: You have worked with different kinds of people in order to portray your work, what’s next in store for you?
A: I have a TOP SECRET series that I am shooting (hopefully before Christmas) and this work breaks all the rules I set for my self. It’s nothing like I’ve ever done before. I wish I could tell you what it is, but I just can’t! Stay tuned to www.sarahbrownphotography.co.uk to keep an eye on it though.

Q: We believe photography is art and every artist has something unique about their work, how would you describe your style?
A: I believe my style is very feministic. I love shooting women in powerful ways. I’m not sure how men perceive my work, but I think it’s more so aimed at women, and they love it.

zee 7

Q: What has been the most challenging part in your photography career?
A: London Fashion Week. Although this was such a fun experience, and I can’t wait to go back, it was just so stressful. Backstage was just so hectic, and the turnaround for my images had to be really quick. Although, this paid off as I got my catwalk pictures published in Pakistan VOGUE, which is amazing.

Q: In the art world it’s all about bringing new refreshing ideas to the scene, who or what is your biggest inspiration for this?
A: I love Mert and Marcus who are two photographers from Turkey and Wales that work together. I think all of their work just stands out from anyone else’s. They have such fierce work. However, saying that, I love the simplicity of Mario Testino’s ’Towel Series’ which shows the most beautiful girls in the world in what’s seen as a venerable way.

A: What has been your most memorable experience in photography?
Q: It would probably have to be photographing the famous fashion blogger Sonya Esman (ClassIsInternal.com). These photographs were published to Meade Magazine too, which was a great achievement for somebody who’s only 20! I hope there are many more memorable photography experiences in store as I can only get better.

Q: What camera do you use and why?
A: I use a Canon 5D Mkiii. I’ve grown up with Canon, and I just can’t seem to understand Nikon, however I do want to broaden my camera range in the near future.

Q: As you’re a fashion photographer how would you describe your attitude towards fashion?
A: I love classy fashion, its just so powerful in editorials. I’ve always remembered a saying since I was young and think it really influences my style “Class is timeless.”

Q: What tips can you share with our budding photographers out there?
A: You need to have passion. If you don’t, it will show in your work. Eat, sleep, breathe photography!

Leave a Reply

