Must Read: Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway – By Dr. Abdullah Bahi


I got this book as a gift from a beloved person in 2013. It was a new edition labeled “25thAnniversary Edition”, with the addition of real stories of some of the millions of people who read this book and had their lives turn around to the better.

Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway is a self-help book by Susan Jeffers, Ph.D., who sold over 15 million copies in over 100 countries in the past quarter of a century.

What makes this book special? To begin with, it is the title! We all have fears, and we most certainly have been or will be put in a situation at some point in our lives where we would have to face our fears. Most of us would want to help themselves overcome that fear by trying to “kill” that feeling that we all hate.

Dr. Jeffers has changed that concept. She claims that the best way to overcome your fear is to really embrace it, and do what you are fearing anyways.

She mentions in the first chapter of her book that the secret behind all our fears is simple:

“At the bottom of every one of your fears is simply the fear that you can’t handle whatever life may bring you.”

Then she writes a few examples of real life situations to prove her theory true. She also translates the conversations that occur in our minds regarding our fears in a brilliant yet simple way that leaves you wondering, “Why haven’t I thought of that before?”

Dr. Jeffers then starts to categorize and explain the levels of fear and the simple ways to overcome it, by facing it. She continues to illustrate using diagrams and exercises on how to turn our fears that bring us pain, into a power that will help us accomplish the dreams that we have left on the shelves for so long.

Dr. Jeffers concludes with ideas to turn your life around such as choosing love and trust, feeling the inner void, and the way to efficiently use your time.

This book has definitely changed many ideas that I had carved in my mind about fear, and widened my horizon on things that I have not even thought I was capable of doing. As I read the book, there were times where I would put the book down and wonder where it has been hiding from me all this time, other times when I wished I would have applied the concepts shown in this book in the past.

I’m glad I read this book, especially the 25th edition where you get to meet people who have taken the most out of this book and learned from their experiences.

I’ll conclude this review with the most important lesson I learnt from this book:

Whatever happens, I can handle it!

Leave a Reply

