Art from the Heart – Interviewed by Zatasha Kiran


Eclectic Yemeni is a young female artist who shares her talent through social media. She combines her contemporary style with traditional themes to create moving, thought provoking pieces that appeal to people of all backgrounds. We speak to her about her work, inspiration and future plans.

Zatasha Kiran: Tell us a bit about your childhood.

Eclectic Yemeni: Growing up I always wanted to be the person I am today, I wanted to be content with whatever I had at hand. Growing up in Yemen didn’t really allow me to be exposed to art or artists, it wasn’t that important, at least to my environment it wasn’t.

ZK: What’s your early memory of or experience with art?

EY: My first experience with art was at a competition in my school where they asked us to draw the Sydney Opera House. I remember winning 2nd place and that, I guess, was my first ‘Yes I can be an artist’ moment.

EY 1

ZK: Who or what inspired you to become and artist? 

EY: So many people and artists have inspired me and continue to inspire me. There isn’t anyone in particular who inspired me to actually become an artist other than myself because it took a while for me to actually believe in myself and skills. Now that I do I couldn’t be more proud.

ZK: How would you describe your artistic style? 

EY: My technique is eclectic. What I mean by that is I always add something different or a technique I haven’t used before. The main theme of my art is based on women and their relations with their lives, cultures and society.

ZK: Did you study art or this just a natural talent?  

EY: I wanted to but I never actually did. It’s just something that I kind of have a natural talent for.

ZK: What do you think makes you stand out from other artists in your niche? 

EY: Mixing different platforms and having a different style from time to time, I guess.

I don’t know I feel very arrogant answering this question! You tell me, do I stand out?

ZK: Who’s is your biggest supporter and motivator? 

EY: My friends. I owe it all to them. They’re my biggest supports and and they motivate me so much.

EY 4
The Arrival

 

ZK: Do you have a favourite piece of art that you have created? 

EY: Yes. It’s hard to pick one because I feel like they each hold a piece of me, but if I had to I’d pick ‘Arrival’. That piece is the closest to my heart because it is a reflection of my own soul.

EY 6

ZK: Which artist do you look up to or aspire to? 

EY: Tasnim Baghdadi, Monmoshtari , and Manjit Thapp are my top three. Even though their art is very different from mine it still inspires me every time.

ZK: Is your art just a hobby or would you like to develop it into a career?

EY: For now it’s a passion and a hobby but I’d love to develop it into a career God willing.

ZK: Where do you see yourself and your art in 5 years?

EY: I see my art going places it’s never been before, while I continue making new members of my art family to inspire girls like me.

Uvadahlia wishes you the best of luck on your art endeavours and we hope to see you doing big things soon!

*Check out her work on Instagram @eclectic_yemeni 

Leave a Reply

